Winter 2020 Members Meeting Recap

IACMI – The Composites Institute hosted its Winter 2020 Members Meeting in Dayton, Ohio in collaboration with its partners JobsOhio and the University of Dayton Research Institute (UDRI). The meeting featured speakers on topics related to dual use technologies, advancements in carbon fiber recycling and circular economy, and developments in the wind energy and automotive sectors. Read the full meeting recap here.

Presentations: Wed., Jan 22

Presentations will be uploaded on a rolling basis as they are approved by the presenters.

Alex Fitzsimmons, Chief of Staff for the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy at the U.S. Department of Energy and the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency (DAS-EE)

John Hopkins, CEO, IACMI

Glenn Richardson, JobsOhio

Joe Zeis, Senior Advisor for Aerospace & Defense for Gov. DeWine

John E. Leland, Vice President for Research and Executive Director, University of Dayton Research Institute

John Hopkins, IACMI

Dale Brosius, IACMI

Tom Dobbins, ACMA

Andrea Helbach, AFRL

Amanda Simpson, Airbus

Robert Koon, Lockheed Martin

Jessica Sisk, US Army Combat Capability Development Command, Aviation & Missile Center

John Wilczynski, Executive Director, America Makes

Overview of IACMI aerospace projects

Scott Huelskamp, University of Dayton Research Institute

A Computational Design Methodology for Tailored Fiber Placement Preforms 

Daniel Rapking, UDRI

Rapidclave Past Present, and Future

Dan Allman, Globe Manufacturing

DOE Fuel Cell Office Review of CGS Tank Cost Reduction

Ned Stetson, Hydrogen Storage Program Manager, Fuel Cells Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy

Progress on the Development of Hollow PAN Precursor for Carbon Fibers

Matt Weisenberger, University of Kentucky

Developing a New Polyolefin Precursor for Low-Cost, High-Strength Carbon Fiber

T.C. Mike Chung, Penn State University

Joannie Harmon Heath, IACMI

Wes Hobbs, Davis Technical College

Derek Berry, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Jeffery Ritz, Presidium

Christian Fais, Schmidt & Heinzmann USA

Tom Rose, AvPro

Ben Dietsch, Cornerstone Research Group

Presentations:  Thurs., Jan. 23

Presentations will be uploaded on a rolling basis as they are approved by the presenters.

Soydan Ozcan, ORNL

Chuck Ludwig, CHZ Technologies

Mohamed Bouguettaya, BASF

Jordan Harris, Vartega

Update on Automotive Project Portfolio

Ray Boeman, IACMI & Michigan State University

Carbon Fiber Reinforced Polyolefin Panels

Dan Houston, IACMI

Megan Shewey, Ford Motor Company

Development of NDE/NDT Tools for High Volume, High-Speed Inspection of CFRP Structures in Automotive Manufacturing

Oleksii Karpenko, Michigan State University

Printed Metal Molds for Mainstream Automotive Production

John Unser, IACMI

Project 7.7 Materials Development and Advanced Process Simulation for Additive Manufacturing (AM) with Fiber-Reinforced Thermoplastics

Alan Wedgewood, DuPont

Design and manufacturing of an aerospace blocker door using additive manufactured compression mold tooling

Mike Bogdanor, Purdue University CMSC

Meeting Photos

View Members Meeting photos on the IACMI Facebook page.

Agenda & Attendees

View Members Meeting photos on the IACMI Facebook page.

2019 IACMI Highlights