Thank you to those who voted for the Collaborative Composite Solutions (CCS) Board of Directors and IACMI Technology Advisory Board (TAB). IACMI extends its congratulations to the newest CCS Board of Directors Members and IACMI TAB working to drive IACMI’s mission and composites consortium.

Incoming Board of Directors members include:
Hendrik MainkaVolkswagen, representing premium IACMI members

After finishing his studies of chemical engineering with specialization in molecular and structural product design at the Otto-von-Guericke University in Magdeburg, Germany, Dr. Hendrik Mainka did his dissertation at the University of Bremen Germany in the area of production technologies (Prof. Dr. Prof. Dr. Axel Herrmann – Faserinstitut Bremen e.V. (FIBRE))

Since 2011, Dr. Hendrik Mainka has been working for Volkswagen in the Volkswagen Group Research, department Materials, and Manufacturing Processes. The focus of his work was on automotive light weighting and alternative fiber reinforcements. Since 2015, he has worked for Volkswagen Group of America, where he now leads the Product Innovation team as of August 2016. Focus of the work is in the area of automotive light weighting using composites, electro mobility, and additive manufacturing. Dr. Hendrik Mainka also spent one year at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, where he was involved in the development of cost effective automotive carbon fiber.

Charles HillLocal Motors, representing small and medium sized enterprises (SME) consortium IACMI members

Charles is an Advanced Materials Engineer for Local Motors and serves as the Principle Investigator for IACMI projects including an Enterprise Project that is planned to start in May.  He is a materials and process expert in polymers and composites with 28 years of experience including 13 at NASA Johnson Space Center and 10 at the Air Force Research Laboratory Materials Directorate.  During his career he has worked as a civilian employee of both NASA and DoD as well as a contractor or subcontractor for The University of Dayton Research Institute, Lockheed Martin Space Systems, and Jacobs Engineering.  In these roles he was responsible for research and development as well as design consultation, materials selection, testing, and certification of NASA flight hardware for M&P requirements.  Charles also performed as a Product Development Manufacturing Engineer for Moog Components Group developing new electromechanical systems including high performance motors and avionics sensors before joining Local Motors in early 2015.  He graduated in the first class of materials engineers from the University of Cincinnati in 1992 and attended graduate studies at the University of Dayton from 1993-1997.

Incoming Technology Advisory Board members include: 
Charles HillLocal Motors, representing small and medium sized enterprises (SME) consortium IACMI members
Hendrik MainkaVolkswagen, representing premium IACMI members
Shridhar Nath –  General Electric Research, representing large entity IACMI members

Shridhar has been with GE Research in upstate New York for over 21 years involved in the development of technologies related to Nondestructive Evaluation (NDE) and Composites. He currently leads a global team of researchers targeting design, analysis, manufacturing and automation of next generation of Wind Blades. Shridhar represents GE on both the IACMI consortium as well as the ARM (Advanced Robotics for Manufacturing) institute. One of his key responsibilities is supporting the integration of both Blade Dynamics and LM Wind Power into GE, from a technology perspective.

In his previous role as the manager of the composites team, the charter was developing state-of-art technologies to maintain competitive advantage of GE products and expand the use of composites in newer components and systems. One example his team was very involved is the carbon composite fan blade on the GEnx engine that powers the Boeing 787 and the GE90 engine on the Boeing 777. Prior to his composite’s role, Shridhar managed the NDE team involved in developing novel solutions for both manufacturing and service of industrial products Shridhar received his PhD in Electrical Engineering from Iowa State University with a focus on understanding the sensor/defect interactions in materials using computational methods.

Thank you to the outgoing Board of Directors and TAB members for your collaborative dedication to IACMI, representing your constituent organizations, and advancing the composites field. We appreciate your commitment to share your time, expertise, and support. Departing BOD members include Peter Hedger Jr. (MVP) and Michael Connolly (Huntsman). Departing TAB members include Felix Nguyen (Toray), Mohammed Bouguettaya (BASF), and Leigh Sargent (Advanced Composites Engineering).

To learn more about IACMI TAB and BOD, visit the Advisory Boards page on the IACMI website.